fig1.jpg
poppkad_2.jpg

ATLAS POPP

images/fig4.jpg

Various private individuals attempted to publish cadastral maps in the nineteenth century, but only Philip-Christian Popp left behind a work that transcends the local level. In January 1841 the former land registry official from Bruges received permission from the Finance Minister to publish an Atlas based on cadastral documents. This decision was the starting signal of an undertaking that would develop into an impressive magnum opus. For almost forty years Popp published the property maps and real estate registers of the majority of the kingdom.

Popp's Atlas has more than 2000 maps and 30,000 register pages spread across 1736 volumes.

Each volume is dedicated to a municipality and contains the publication of the following land registry documents:

The Atlas covers an area where three-quarters of the Belgian population lived and where the national Cadastral Income was localised. The publication covers the provinces of Brabant, Hainaut, Liège, East- and West-Flanders completely except for six (pre-fusion) cities (Ghent, Geraardsbergen, Leuven, Liège, Ostend and Oudenaarde). For the province of Antwerp, the arrondissement Antwerp is partially published and Mechelen is integrally published.

A flaw in the Atlas of Belgium is the absence of a year. Except for a handful of municipalities, Popp omitted every date for commercial reasons. As part of the POPPKAD project, all the atlas volumes were dated accurately.

Disclaimer

fig1.jpg
poppkad_2.jpg

L'ATLAS CADASTRAL PARCELLAIRE DE LA BELGIQUE

images/fig4.jpg

Au XIXe siècle, plusieurs particuliers ont tenté d'éditer des plans cadastraux. Mais Philippe-Christian Popp est le seul à nous avoir légué un ouvrage qui dépasse le niveau local. En janvier 1841, l'ancien fonctionnaire au cadastre de Bruges est autorisé par le ministre des Finances à élaborer un Atlas sur la base des documents cadastraux. Cette décision est l'amorce de ce qui deviendra un imposant ouvrage. Popp publie, durant près de quarante ans, les plans parcellaires et registres immobiliers de la majeure partie du Royaume.

L'atlas de Popp compte plus de 2.000 cartes et 30.000 feuillets des registres, tout ce réparti sur 1.736 parties.

Chaque partie est consacrée à une commune et contient les documents cadastraux suivants:

L'Atlas couvre une superficie équivalant aux trois-quarts de la population belge et du revenu cadastral national. L'édition reprend, à l'exception de six villes (avant fusion), à savoir Gand, Grammont, Louvain, Liège, Ostende et Audenarde, les provinces du Brabant, du Hainaut, de Liège, de Flandre occidentale et de Flandre orientale. Dans la province d'Anvers, l'arrondissement d'Anvers est repris en partie, alors que celui de Malines est complet.

L'Atlas ne mentionne hélas aucune date. Sauf pour quelques communes, Popp a omis de dater ses données et ce, pour des raisons commerciales. Dans le cadre du projet POPPKAD, toutes les parties de l'Atlas seront soigneusement datées.

Disclaimer